top of page

Our High Priest

Today's Reading(s)

Hebrews 2:14-18, HCSB

14 Now since the children have flesh and blood in common, Jesus also shared in these, so that through His death He might destroy the one holding the power of death—that is, the Devil— 15 and free those who were held in slavery all their lives by the fear of death. 16 For it is clear that He does not reach out to help angels, but to help Abraham’s offspring. 17 Therefore, He had to be like His brothers in every way, so that He could become a merciful and faithful high priest in service to God, to make propitiation for the sins of the people. 18 For since He Himself was tested and has suffered, He is able to help those who are tested.

Today's Reflection

Key Verse(s)

Therefore, He had to be like His brothers in every way, so that He could become a merciful and faithful high priest in service to God, to make propitiation for the sins of the people. For since He Himself was tested and has suffered, He is able to help those who are tested.

(Hebrews 2:17-18)

Devotional

I went to the home of a couple to take care of their twins for a few hours last month. As I was backing into their driveway, I accidentally bumped into one of their outdoor lights near the front of their house. I apologized to the man when I got out of the car and thanked him for helping me get to his home. I had been on the phone with him the last few miles until I arrived there.

Nearly a week later, I received a phone call from the staffing company who had placed me in the home that Saturday night. The lady had emailed my supervisor about the earlier incident. At the time, I was wondering the reason she had even brought it up to my boss. It had been taken care of as far as I was concerned. I had made a mistake, but I had apologized to the man. It was also covered in the blood of Jesus. (Hebrews 7:27)

However, the lady had mentioned to my supervisor that there was damage to an irrigation system which would greatly cost them. Neither her or her husband had said anything about it to me when I was at their home or before I left that night. I spoke to my boss and told her my side of the story. She told me that she would call me back later. That's the last that I heard of it.

I prayed about that particular situation before and after I spoke to my supervisor. I had also prayed for the couple regarding the incident at their house. When we pray, we have a great high priest named Jesus who intercedes for us. He is also our intercessor. (Hebrews 7:25) He stands in the gap for us. He is our go-between. He goes between our Father and other people for us. As our high priest, He sits at the right hand of our Father. (Hebrews 8:1) I am glad that I can call on Jesus anytime anywhere. Aren't you?

He knows and understands the hardships, trials, and tests that we go through in this life. He also endured and suffered trials, tests, and hardships in this world. (Matthew 4:1-11, 27:11-54) Therefore, He is able to identify with us and help us since He is our forerunner. (Hebrews 6:20) He is able to understand our humanity---our weaknesses. (Hebrews 4:15)

When we experience tests and trials, He is the one who stands up for us. He defends us. I am sure that's exactly what He did for me when I spoke to my supervisor about the incident at the couple's house. I am sure that He does it for you as well whenever you are facing a hardship, test, or trial in your life.

Isn't it comforting to have Jesus as our high priest? I know that it has been for me, and I hope it is for you too. Whatever you are currently enduring, know and remember that you have a great high priest who is available to you and wants to help you---not just then but anytime anywhere you are in your life.

Reflection Questions

  • What kind of hardships, trials, and tests have you endured? Were they difficult for you? How did you handle them?

  • When do you normally pray? Before, during, and/or after hardships, trials, and tests?

  • How has God been faithful to you during those times as well as since then?

  • How has God used those times from your past to help others?

About the Author

Dawn has a professional background in Communications including working in television and radio. She has also done some freelance writing in recent years. Dawn became a member of Brentwood Baptist Church after transferring her church membership early this year. She helps out with some of the writing for the church website. In addition, Dawn has been writing her faith-based blog, In Spirit and In Truth (http://dawn-inspiritandintruth.blogspot.com) for a few years now. She began writing a new and different themed one, Dawn Freeman (http://dawnfreeman.wordpress.com), earlier this year.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page