top of page

Where Are You From?

"Where are you from?" It seems to be one of the most asked questions these days. Unfortunately, I hear it on a pretty frequent basis. And, it is one of my least favorite questions of all time.

For one, I am not really from any particular location in this world. I have moved around much of my life. I know that may be unusual to some people. However, I think it is very rare to live in a specific location for most if not all of a person's life. It is practically unheard of in this day and age.

People move for various reasons. Sometimes, it is due to a relocation with their employer or a transfer with their company. Other times, they move to be physically closer to their biological relatives or other family.

Whatever the reason, people need to know and understand that the question of "Where are you from?" is improper and inappropriate at times. It can be a very trivial question to some people. It may even be offensive to other people. Some people may just take it the wrong way whether you are trying to invade their privacy or make small talk. It can also be seen as an ignorant question from ignorant people.

What are your thoughts on the old and outdated question of "Where are you from?"

Tags:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page